Q & A: Jack Whitehall

Jack Whitehall

A year ago, I had a Q & A session with comedian Jack Whitehall as a part of one of my university assignments. At only 22 Jack has already fronted his own TV show The TNT Show alongside Holly Walsh and is a regular guest on panel shows Would I Lie to You? and 8 out of 10 Cats amongst others. Here’s what he had to say at the time:

You’ve done some acting in the past, is it something you would want to do more of in the future?
Yes, I’m currently going up for various roles in things and trying to develop a sitcom. I acted a lot when I was younger and I’m keen to return to it.

What television show would you love to be in?
The thick of it is fantastic. I love the fact they cast so many comedians as well as straight actors in the funny roles and the writing’s superb.

Who were your influences growing up?
I started out watching people like Jack Dee and Eddie Izzard, I then found Bill Hicks and as I went into more live comedy I became influenced by some of the less mainstream circuit acts like John Gordillo.

You’ve worked with a range of huge comedians, who is your favourite person to do shows with?
Frankie Boyle always makes me giggle like a little girl and Jason Manford’s one of the kindest and warmest people you could ever work with.

Do you have any funny stories to share from working on the quiz shows?
Frankie Boyle made a really rude joke about Adrian Chiles when Christine Bleakley was on Would I Lie To You? It was so bad they cut it from the broadcast, but it was hilarious because her parents were at the record of it which added extra awkwardness.

Your website says you were initially a child actor, what made you want to pursue comedy?
Well I was always a show off and I loved acting in sketches so it seemed like the natural thing and the purest way to get laughs.

How did it feel presenting ‘Big Brothers Big Mouth’, not having done much live television before?
I was so scared but as with all experience like that it’s about tricking yourself into being confident if you think “yeah I can do this” then you tend to be able to, so I prepared loads and then just tackled it head on. I was terrified I’d have the urge to shout c**t on live tv.

How does it feel to achieve so much success at such a young age?
It just puts more pressure on you to deliver. I don’t really think about my age just what’s going to come next.

Your jokes focus on stories of your family’s anecdotes, how do your parents feel about being the butt of your jokes?
My mum complains and my dad always just says “ha he’s talking about me!”.  He’s proud really!

How did it feel presenting ‘Never Mind The Buzzcocks’ this year?
Nervous but very excited, as a fan of the show I wanted to do the job justice.

Do you prefer doing stand-up, acting, presenting or being on the panel-shows?
My answer is 100% stand up comedy. There’s no one to tell you what you can or can’t say.
 

 

4 thoughts on “Q & A: Jack Whitehall

  1. Pingback: Q & A: James Buckley From The Inbetweeners « Rachel MacGregor's Portfolio

  2. Great Q&A really enjoyed reading it!
    Finding out more about his background such as his influences was really interesting 🙂

    • Thanks Hailey 🙂 I saw him live before he became so popular so for me it’s really interesting to find out about his background too as he was doing so much before I even saw him! Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. Pingback: Top 5: Christmas Entertainment Releases « Rachel writes…

Leave a Reply

