One To Watch: Beastly

Beastly (2011)

I’ll be the first to admit, I am an absolute sucker for fairy stories. Some of my fondest memories from growing up are sitting watching Disney films with my sisters. Between us, we probably have every Disney Classic VHS and to this day, I could probably still quote them word for word.

One of my favourite Disney films growing up was ‘Beauty and The Beast’. I couldn’t tell you exactly why, but I think I identified with the main character Belle; she’s very close with her father and has a love for literature, two qualities that I can identify with. The Disney version of the film heavily focused on her, which is any young girls dream, to be able to compare herself with a Disney Princess. I was therefore, initially very hesitant when I heard that the film was being remade in a modern day setting.

‘Beastly’ is set to be released in 2011 and the new trailer has just been released online. It will star Vanessa Hudgens of High School Musical fame and English actor Alex Pettyfer. I have to say, after seeing the trailer, I still have my reservations about what the response to the film will be, just because the Disney adaptation is so iconic to people of my age. The film appears to be more focused on Pettyfer’s character, which, for me, could save the film. From the trailer, he seems to be captivating and I’m sure will be a huge success, having already been attached to Now (2011) which stars Amanda Seyfried, Justin Timberlake and Cillian Murphy among many other big names.

Despite my reservations, I’m sure I’ll be checking this film out. What do you think of the trailer?

Leave a Reply

