I’m a “Celebrity”, Let Me Tarnish My Career

I’m enjoying this year’s I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here, although I have to admit, a week in, I still can’t name the full line-up. That is what is infuriating about these “celebrity” shows, they end up centering on one individual who provides the most entertainment and controversy.

This year’s edition might as well be called “The Helen Flanagan Show” as little has been seen of any of the other contestants. In fact, I forgot Linda Robson was even in the jungle until a quick Google Search.

Every year it seems to be the same story – the public find one individual who just cannot stand to complete the Bushtucker Trials, or do so with a lot of fuss. Who can forget the Gillian McKeith episodes? She was the first person in the history of I’m a Celeb to refuse a live task… after “fainting”.

As frustrating as it can be to watch Flanagan refuse to complete the trials, which staff have been preparing for months, I can’t help but feel bad for her. It has been revealed that she left Coronation Street due to depression and suffering from extreme panic attacks, which is worrying as before each trial she has expressed how she feels anxious and is seen getting worked up about how the other camp mates will feel about her should she fail. There has been speculation that she has been faking her fear to gain public attention, however, considering her parents have spoken about their concern for her, I can’t see this being true. I doubt the negative press and twitter attention will make her feel good about herself upon leaving the jungle either.

I’ve always had issues with actors and actresses going on shows like this and Celebrity Big BrotherIt doesn’t seem to be an issue with soap stars, as long as they are content staying in the same role. But with Flanagan having left Coronation Street over a year ago and not acting since, I can’t see producers fighting over her having seen her admit she is a “drama queen” with “diva antics”. In fact, one high profile writer, Noel Clarke, has already hinted he wouldn’t be interested in working with her due to her involvement with the show.

Despite a few I’m a Celeb successes, like Myleene Klass, Joe Swash and Stacey Solomon, you have to wonder, for some of the other contestants, is it always worth it?

 

 

One thought on “I’m a “Celebrity”, Let Me Tarnish My Career

Leave a Reply

