Review: Mumford and Sons – The Road to Red Rocks

The DVD Cover.

The Road to Red Rocks DVD Cover.

In 2011, I was fortunate enough to see one of my favourite bands, Mumford and Sons, live. My friend treated me to tickets for my birthday and we both agreed the gig would be unforgettable as it was held in a tiny venue, the New Wimbledon Theatre.

I find it hard to describe how amazing the gig actually was to people, when they ask I usually just say “I spent an hour and a half with butterflies in my stomach”, mainly because I was bewildered by how incredible they sounded live. Whilst most artists never quite live up to how they sound on their albums, Mumford and Sons were even better and their musical talents shone that night, especially when playing ‘Timshel’ acoustically with no amps. They played an amazing setlist  including unknown songs from their then unreleased second album, Babel.

The night ended in the best way possible when we met Winston and Ben after the gig. They were incredibly humble and kind and took the time to talk to us, although we did feel slightly bad when the people around us recognised who they were and they got bombarded, but they didn’t seem to mind at all.

Since then, I’ve found myself saying part of me doesn’t want to rush to see them live again, just because I don’t think it could be as good as that night. But with the release of their incredible new album, Babel, I’ve found myself in two minds again.

Ben and Winston were kind enough to stop for a chat and take photos with us.

Ben and Winston were kind enough to stop for a chat and take photos with us.

When I heard the band were releasing The Road to Red Rocks, a dvd featuring live footage from two sold-out shows at the Red Rocks Ampitheatre, there was no doubt in my mind that I needed to get it. Upon watching it I found myself in possession of the butterflies I previously had at their gig.

The setlist of the dvd great, with tracks from Babel and some old favourites from Sigh No More. It is clear that the dvd isn’t just a means of promoting Babel, but it is more of a thank you to the fans. My personal stand out tracks are Lover of the Light, Awake my Soul and Dust Bowl Dance. 

The footage of the band  is brilliantly directed by Fred & Nick. It features amazing performances and there are also some interviews and backstage footage where the band talk about their bond as a group and their love of music. Beautifully candid moments are shown when they come off stage where you can see how happy they are to have played at such a prestigious venue and to be in each others company. These endearing moments will melt the heart of any fan.

The band’s love of performing really comes across on stage and, unsurprisingly, The Road to Red Rocks dvd has left me desperate to see them once again. The dvd is, without a doubt, a must-have for any Mumford and Sons fan.

Rating: ****

One thought on “Review: Mumford and Sons – The Road to Red Rocks

  1. Pingback: Brit Awards 2013: The Nominations « Rachel writes…

Leave a Reply

